Skip navigation links
Home page > University > Organisation


Organisation and administration

The President is the legal representative of the University: he has a political role, presides over the Academic Senate and the Board of Administrators and supervises the running of the University.
The General Manager  is appointed by the Board of Administrators on proposal from the President after consultation with the Academic Senate.
The General Manager is responsible for the central technical and administrative management of the University, and uses the central administration offices of the University  for the political management of the Governing Bodies.

Governing bodies

The Statute describes in detail the structure of the governing bodies. The 24 Departments are the key organising structures that carry out all research, teaching and training activities involving knowledge and innovation transfer.

The Academic Senate represents all components of the university. It counts 29 members: the President, who chairs it, ten department directors; ten lecturers and researchers representing the five disciplinary areas; three representatives of the technical/administrative staff, the readers and the language experts; five students.

The Board of Administrators is the ruling body of the university. It counts 11 members: the President who chairs it, three external and five internal members, two student representatives. The three external members are nominated by the Senate. Candidacies are selected by a dedicated committee.

Other governing bodies are: the Board of Auditors, the Disciplinary Committee, the Assessment Unit, and the University Ombudsman.

Academic and administrative/technical staff

The teaching and research staff is divided into three levels: full professors, associate professors, and researchers.
Access to these categories is through national scientific competitions based on qualifications and exams for researchers and associate professors, and based on qualifications alone for full professors.

Technical and administrative staff are organised into different categories, depending on their qualifications and on the kind of competitive entrance examination; their working position is regulated by national collective bargaining agreements.

last update: 13-Nov-2018